Veganism, Libertarianism, and the Non-Aggression Principle

Posted: January 3, 2012 in politics, vegan
Tags: , , ,

The non-aggression principle (also called the non-aggression axiom, the anti-coercion principle, the zero aggression principle, the non-initiation of force), or NAP for short, is a moral stance which asserts that aggression is inherently illegitimate. Aggression, for the purposes of the NAP, is defined as the initiation or threatening of violence against a person or legitimately owned property of another. Specifically, any unsollicited actions of others that physically affect an individual’s property, including that person’s body, no matter if the result of those actions is damaging, beneficiary or neutral to the owner, are considered violent when they are against the owner’s free will and interfere with his right to self-determination, as based on the libertarian principle of self-ownership. Supporters of NAP use it to demonstrate the immorality of theft, vandalism, assault, and fraud. In contrast to pacifism, the non-aggression principle does not preclude violence used in self-defense.[1]

Many supporters argue that NAP opposes such policies as victimless crime laws, taxation, and military drafts. NAP is the foundation of most present day libertarianphilosophies.http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Non-aggression_principle

I extend this to non-human animals as well. Yes, if I was charged by a bear, or if a bear was attacking someone, I would kick that bears ass. No, I would not kill a bear if I could avoid killing said bear, if said bear was not attacking myself or someone else.

I don’t know why people stop the principle at people. Speciesism, I guess. Oh, well. I can’t control what others do or think, nor would I ever want to.

Because of the NAP, I am vegan, anti-war, anti-taxation, and anti-violence. Self Defense is the ONLY justification for violent action. Preemptive attacks are never justified, especially if diplomacy and negotiations have not been used to their furthest potential.
There is no reason for slaughterhouses, of factory farms, etc in -my- version of NAP. I also would not destroy them, I’m not crazy. Would I like to see the world transition into veganism? Of course. Would I do anything to force it? No.

Yes, I do understand the mental partition I have set up. If I would protect a person from a bear, would I protect a bear from a human? That is not an easy answer, and the only one I could give is, yes. By education.

Until next time, be kind, be free.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

