On Drugs

Posted: January 10, 2012 in news, politics, rant
Tags: , , , , ,

Drugs are bad.
Drug laws are worse.
The Drug War is evil.

I have not always been drug free, I experimented with pot and a little acid in high school. I smoked cigarettes for damn near fifteen years. I used to drink like a fish, hell, I once drank ninety days in a row with my former roommate, just to see if I could. Do I regret any of that? Probably the cigarettes and the alcohol. To this day, I get momentary cravings for tobacco, before I catch myself and call myself stupid for even thinking of it. Once an addict, always an addict, I guess. I drink coffee, but on the days I abstain (usually by just plain forgetting to make it) I don’t suffer withdraws. I usually just end up drinking more water that day, for whatever reason. To paraphrase a conversation Ian MacKaye had once:

“My friend says caffeine is a drug.”
“Oh. Tell your friend fuck you.”

I am against drug laws, I believe that any consenting adults can do to their own body what they want to do to their own body. If they want to mess it up with crack, tobacco, copius amounts of peanut butter, booze, whatever I don’t care. Its their body. Fuck em, as long as they’re not doing it in my house. I don’t care about smoking in public. I wouldn’t care if someone lit a joint near me on the bus. I’d probably just switch seats, or open a window. As long as whatever they do doesn’t cost me any money, or any grief (a brief stench that lasts a moment doesn’t qualify as grief in my opinion), they can do what they want.
Of course I don’t want drugged drivers, anymore than I want drunk drivers. What makes you think the numbers of drugged drivers would increase if drugs were legal? That’s pretty stupid thinking. The people who would do drugs if they were legal are the same people who do drugs now. They’re driving under the influence now. What do I suggest for punishment? The same punishments that drunk drivers have for operating under the influence IF they do harm to another person or damage property. (The same thing I would want for drunk drivers.)

I’ve had friends fuck their entire lives up with drug use. I’ve also seen friends fuck up their entire lives without touching aspirin, bad choices are bad choices, and we should not protect adults from themselves. Sometimes reaching bottom is the only way to ascend. The government should not be there to bail anyone -people, banks, and companies included- out of failure. Do I think it should be easier for drug abusers to get into rehab that they can afford? Yes. I think there should be more private charities that do that exact thing, especially without the religious bullshit that AA has.

People don’t seem to realize there is a huge difference between drug users and drug abusers, and that is one of the reasons the drug war goes more or less unopposed.

We spend tons of money on a failed, evil, racist war against our own citizens. Why? Well… any property seized during a drug raid instantly belongs to the government, a la Christian Inquisition style. That could be a deciding factor. Or, it could be that almost all prisons are now owned by corporations that are funded through tax dollars, and the more prisoners they have (violent offenders, or non-violent druggies) the more money they get, which they funnel to cops and judges for putting more people into their prisons. Its a cycle of racism and greed, all in the guise of saving people from themselves. Its what we, in the real world call bullshit.

So, in closing, remember these things:
1)Don’t do drugs.
2)Don’t enforce drug laws.
3)End the drug war.

Leave a Reply

